How to Delete A Facebook Group

Delete Facebook Group


How To Delete A Facebook Group


Is it time to delete your Facebook group? Teams can be an useful property to your business advertising but they don't constantly exercise the method you planned.

If you have a huge membership, they can be incredibly lengthy. Unless they are adding to a details company objective, it's difficult to justify keeping them to life.

In this blog post, we'll take a look at how to delete a Facebook group in addition to some options to pulling the plug.

Deleting your Facebook group is radical and also final. As soon as you've done it, there's no going back. You'll shed all the material and strings. All the work you place in will be chosen excellent. So prior to you erase, consider the other options.

If you are 100% certain you want to delete scroll to point 4.

1. Change the Team's Name and also Branding
As opposed to removing could re-branding the team job?

It can be discouraging when you grow an engaged group but members continuously suggest your rivals in their remarks. Typically, this is due to the fact that you really did not make it clear that the team is owned by your service when you establish it up.

If so, a re-brand could take care of the trouble. Change the team name, include branding to your cover images, and also connect it to your Facebook web page. Below's exactly how.

Adjustment the group name

  • Click the 3 dots underneath your cover photo

  • Select 'Edit team setups' from the drop-down menu


Delete Facebook Group

Edit group settings to change the name of your Facebook team

  • Type in your brand-new group name beside 'Team Name'


Delete Facebook Group

Change your Facebook group name to the new branded variation.

Add branding to the cover photo
Your team cover photo dimension is 1,640 px by 859px. Usage Canva, or your preferred visuals style device, to produce a Facebook team cover that includes your logo design.

Link the group to your web page

Connecting your web page to your group lets you message, like and also comment as your web page on your Facebook group.

To connect your team to your Facebook page:

  • Click the 3 dots under your cover picture

  • Select 'Edit team settings' from the drop-down menu

  • Under Linked Pages click 'Link Your Page'


Delete Facebook Group

Connect your group to your Facebook page to ensure that you can upload and comment as your organisation

  • Click 'Web link' next to the page you wish to link



Select the web page you want to connect your team to

2. Select New Admins
Relationships create in teams-- participants make real links and sustain each other. Erasing the team as well as destroying these partnerships can end in injured feelings and also harm your online reputation.

As opposed to deleting, offer to hand your Facebook team over to new Admins. Search for active participants in the team who might intend to tackle the duty.

If you hand the group over to brand-new admins, disconnect the group from your business and take into consideration relabeling it to ensure that participants can see there has been a modification.

I additionally recommend pinning an article to the team describing the handover as well as inviting brand-new admins

To assign new admins.

  • Click the 'Participants' tab

  • Click on the 3 dots beside the member you wish to offer admin rights to

  • Select 'Make admin' from the drop-down menu


Delete Facebook Group

Hand your team over to new admins

3. Archive Your Team
Only a team creator can delete a group unless the developer has left. Because situation, any type of admin can erase the team The procedure is permanent-- archiving a group is not.

Archived teams stay in-tact with all photos and threads still visible for participants to check out. An archived group will certainly not show up in search results page for non-members as well as no new members can sign up with.

Admins can still block as well as delete individuals as well as strings however the group summaries can not be transformed.

Archiving is relatively easy to fix. If you change your mind you can un-archive a team and also return to active use.

This could be the very best solution if you are taking a prolonged break from your company or are working with a project that indicates you do not have time to provide to the group.

It likewise suggests you will certainly remain to have accessibility to the web content and also strings in the team that could be a source in the future.

Exactly how to archive a group.

  • Click the three dots under your cover image

  • Select 'Archive team' from the drop-down menu


Delete Facebook Group

Archive your Facebook group by clicking the 3 dots under your cover photo and also choosing 'Archive group'

  • A pop-up window will show up asking you to confirm the activity


Delete Facebook Group

Validate that you want to Archive your group

4. Remove Your Facebook Team
If none of the alternatives over benefit you after that indeed, erasing your Facebook group might be the appropriate option. Removing a team is irreversible. You'll shed all the web content and also threads-- there is no going back.

Before you hit erase
Inform your members. Your group participants have added as well as aided the team expand. They have actually developed connections as well as partnerships. It's courteous to let them know you are erasing it.

This provides a chance to download any images or video clips they have actually published, note any kind of valuable information shared, and end up being Facebook friends with individuals they've connected with.

Offer members lots of time to prepare-- tell them when you'll delete the group and also recommend various other groups they can join.

The hardest component about removing a team is that, at the time of composing, there is no way to archive all the information from your team like you can as a page. That's why it's so crucial to put in the time to go through your group web content as well as download any kind of images as well as videos you want to keep.

Exactly how to remove your Facebook team

This is a lengthy process if you have a great deal of participants.

Just the team creator can remove a Facebook team unless they have actually left the group.

  • Click on the participants tab

  • Click the 3 dots beside each participant subsequently

  • Select 'Remove from Group' one at a time up until all participants are gone

  • The Facebook team is deleted when the last member is gotten rid of


Delete Facebook Group

Get rid of participants individually to remove your Facebook team

  • Facebook will ask you to verify this as you erase yourself as the last participant


Final thought

Deleting your Facebook group is a radical decision but maybe the appropriate one for your company. Weigh up your options before you take it. As well as if deletion is the best option for you, make a note of what you discovered from running your group so you can gain from it.