How Do I Delete something I Posted On Facebook

Deleting Posts On Facebook


Exactly how to remove any kind of message that you developed on Facebook, along with exactly how to eliminate remarks you made. Bear in mind that, while you can report other individuals's messages for being inappropriate, you can not delete another person's article unless it's on your page.

How Do I Delete Something I Posted On Facebook


It's simple enough to remove one Facebook message at a time, however there's no built in means to remove posts in set. For that, you'll need to look to an internet browser extension.

Facebook has actually had a negative few months. The Cambridge Analytica fiasco is just the latest thing making individuals re-evaluate how Facebook matches their lives. You could always completely quit Facebook if you desire, however, for many that's not a choice. Possibly you need it for work, possibly you require it to join groups or message buddies, or perhaps you much like using it. Yet what regarding all those old, unpleasant or sensitive articles? Or what if you want to clean all your old articles as well as just start fresh?

If you've made use of Facebook for a while, it would certainly take means excessive time to go back as well as remove every blog post individually. Personally, I've been utilizing Facebook's "On Today" function to inspect back over old blog posts and delete those I do not like. Yet, if you want a quick method to delete a great deal of posts at once, you'll need to utilize an internet browser expansion.

This post includes our common caution regarding internet browser extensions being a privacy nightmare. Yes, it's paradoxical that we're battling one personal privacy trouble by utilizing an additional. Yet it's pretty much the only method to get this done. And also you can constantly eliminate the expansion when you're completed utilizing it.

We're going to make use of Social Publication Blog post Manager for Google Chrome. We have not been able to find a Firefox or Safari expansion that functions as quickly, so even if you're not a Chrome user, you're most likely best off mounting Chrome temporarily so you can utilize this extension to clean your Facebook account.

Open up Chrome and head to the Social Book Blog post Manager page in the Chrome Web Shop. Click the "Include In Chrome" button.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

Next, click the "Include Expansion" button. You'll after that need to exit and also reopen Chrome to finish installing the expansion.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

Now the expansion is ready, head to Facebook. If you want to, you can download and install a duplicate of all the information you have actually ever before published to Facebook as a backup. After that (or instead of that if you uncommitted concerning backing up your old posts), click the downward facing arrowhead in the top right as well as pick the "Task Log" command.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

The Task Log shows everything you have actually ever done on Facebook. It's sort of distressing to just scroll back via. You can see certain sort of activity using the filters on the left side, and also jump to a specific day using the navigation on the ideal side.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

If you intend to remove every little thing you've done, leave Activity Log chosen in the filters. Or else, if you just intend to delete the important things you have actually posted or the articles you're identified in, use the appropriate filters. The Social Book Post Supervisor works on whatever posts are consisted of in the filter you have actually established.

When you have your filter set up, click the "Social Book Post Supervisor" symbol in Chrome to bring up the expansion.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

There are a couple of options below for fine tuning which posts you target.

  • Year: target a details year or just choose Select All.

  • Month: target a specific month or simply choose select All.

  • Text Contains: just target blog posts having a specific key phrase.

  • Text Not Consists of: just target blog posts without a certain keyword.

  • Prescan On Page: lets you evaluate which blog posts will be removed before they're really removed.

  • Speed: how rapid Social Book Message Manager functions. On a quicker computer system with a great internet link, you can utilize a greater rate.


To show exactly how this all works, I'm mosting likely to target all of my own messages from November 2007. First, I selected the "Blog posts" filter in Facebook to ensure that the expansion will just target my own messages. After that, I opened the Social Book Blog post Manager extension, picked 2007 for the year, and November for the month. I've left the "Prescan on Web page" alternative allowed to ensure that I can assess messages before they are removed. As well as I'm not utilizing any type of keywords.

Establish Social Publication Blog Post Supervisor up the means you desire, and afterwards click the "Erase" switch. Social Book Message Supervisor will certainly run, scrolling down the page as it does. Kick back and allow it do its point. The even more blog posts you're targeting, the longer it will certainly take.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

When it's done scanning, you'll see the results. If you had the prescan choice turned on, it reveals a listing of matching articles with a little blue tick beside each message it's targeting for removal. If you didn't have the prescan on, your blog posts will certainly have currently been erased.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

If you did use the prescan on, you can go through as well as deselect any type of blog posts you want to keep. You can also open the "Confirm to Erase" food selection as well as choose or deselect all the posts at once. When you've reviewed and also selected blog posts, open that "Confirm to Delete" menu, and after that select the "Remove" command.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

Once again, Social Book Message Supervisor will get work to function deleting posts. When it's done, the articles will be gone.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

While removing your old posts is an excellent idea, it will not aid you if third party already has your information. In a similar way, while Facebook claims in their Terms of Solution that anything you erase also obtains deleted from their web servers, they likewise specify that "the gotten rid of web content might persist in backup duplicates for a reasonable amount of time (generally, for a maximum of 90 days ...)" as well as will certainly be held for longer "if needed by applicable legislation, order of any type of federal government company or judicial body, or such".