How to Remove A Post From Facebook

Deleting Posts On Facebook


Exactly how to eliminate any post that you produced on Facebook, in addition to how to remove comments you made. Remember that, while you can report other individuals's posts for being unsuitable, you can not delete an additional individual's message unless it gets on your web page.

How To Remove A Post From Facebook


It's easy sufficient to delete one Facebook article each time, but there's no built in method to remove articles in set. For that, you'll require to look to a browser expansion.

Facebook has actually had a negative few months. The Cambridge Analytica farce is just the latest thing making people re-evaluate just how Facebook suits their lives. You might constantly absolutely give up Facebook if you want, but also for lots of that's not an option. Perhaps you require it for job, perhaps you need it to take part in teams or message good friends, or maybe you similar to utilizing it. Yet what concerning all those old, humiliating or sensitive blog posts? Or what happens if you wish to wipe all your old articles as well as just begin fresh?

If you've utilized Facebook for some time, it would take way way too much time to return as well as delete every message independently. Personally, I have actually been utilizing Facebook's "On Now" function to inspect back over old blog posts and also delete those I do not such as. Yet, if you desire a quick method to remove a lot of articles at the same time, you'll require to make use of a web browser expansion.

This post comes with our conventional caution regarding web browser extensions being a personal privacy headache. Yes, it's paradoxical that we're battling one privacy problem by using one more. But it's basically the only way to get this done. As well as you can constantly remove the expansion when you're completed using it.

We're going to use Social Publication Blog post Manager for Google Chrome. We have not been able to find a Firefox or Safari expansion that functions as easily, so even if you're not a Chrome user, you're possibly best off mounting Chrome temporarily just so you can use this extension to clean up your Facebook account.

Open up Chrome and also head to the Social Book Blog post Manager page in the Chrome Web Store. Click the "Contribute To Chrome" button.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

Next, click the "Add Expansion" button. You'll after that need to exit and reopen Chrome to end up installing the expansion.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

Now the extension is ready, head to Facebook. If you wish to, you can download a copy of all the data you've ever before published to Facebook as a back-up. Afterwards (or as opposed to that if you uncommitted about supporting your old messages), click the downward dealing with arrowhead in the top right and also select the "Activity Log" command.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

The Activity Log reveals everything you've ever before done on Facebook. It's kind of scary to simply scroll back via. You can see details type of task utilizing the filters on the left side, as well as jump to a specific day making use of the navigation on the right side.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

If you wish to delete everything you have actually done, leave Task Log picked in the filters. Or else, if you simply wish to remove the things you have actually published or the posts you're marked in, utilize the relevant filters. The Social Book Message Supervisor works on whatever articles are consisted of in the filter you have established.

When you have your filter established, click the "Social Book Blog post Supervisor" icon in Chrome to bring up the expansion.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

There are a couple of alternatives right here for fine tuning which posts you target.

  • Year: target a particular year or simply select Select All.

  • Month: target a particular month or just pick pick All.

  • Text Contains: only target blog posts having a particular key words.

  • Text Not Includes: only target articles without a particular key phrase.

  • Prescan On Web page: allows you evaluate which articles will be deleted prior to they're actually erased.

  • Speed: just how fast Social Book Post Supervisor works. On a faster computer system with a great internet connection, you can make use of a higher rate.


To show exactly how this all jobs, I'm going to target all of my own articles from November 2007. First, I selected the "Blog posts" filter in Facebook to ensure that the extension will just target my very own blog posts. After that, I opened the Social Publication Post Manager extension, picked 2007 for the year, as well as November for the month. I have actually left the "Prescan on Web page" alternative allowed to ensure that I can examine messages prior to they are removed. And also I'm not making use of any type of keyword phrases.

Establish Social Book Post Supervisor up the means you desire, and then click the "Remove" button. Social Publication Article Supervisor will certainly run, scrolling down the page as it does. Sit back and also let it do its point. The more articles you're targeting, the longer it will take.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

When it's done scanning, you'll see the results. If you had the prescan choice switched on, it shows a checklist of matching articles with a little blue tick beside each message it's targeting for deletion. If you didn't have the prescan on, your posts will have already been erased.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

If you did utilize the prescan on, you can go through as well as deselect any kind of posts you want to maintain. You can additionally open the "Confirm to Delete" menu as well as select or deselect all the blog posts at once. When you've assessed and also selected messages, open that "Confirm to Delete" menu, and afterwards pick the "Delete" command.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

Once more, Social Publication Blog post Manager will certainly get function to work deleting blog posts. When it's done, the posts will certainly be gone.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

While erasing your old messages is a great idea, it won't aid you if third party already has your data. Similarly, while Facebook declares in their Regards to Solution that anything you erase likewise obtains deleted from their servers, they also mention that "the gotten rid of material may continue backup duplicates for a reasonable amount of time (usually, for an optimum of 90 days ...)" and will be held for longer "if needed by relevant regulation, order of any kind of federal government company or judicial body, or such".