Deleting A Facebook Post

Deleting Posts On Facebook


How to remove any message that you developed on Facebook, as well as just how to eliminate remarks you made. Bear in mind that, while you can report other individuals's blog posts for being inappropriate, you can not erase another person's post unless it's on your web page.

Deleting A Facebook Post


It's easy enough to remove one Facebook post at once, but there's no constructed in way to delete blog posts in batch. For that, you'll need to turn to a web browser expansion.

Facebook has actually had a poor few months. The Cambridge Analytica farce is just the latest thing making people re-evaluate exactly how Facebook matches their lives. You can constantly entirely stop Facebook if you want, but also for many that's not an alternative. Perhaps you require it for job, maybe you require it to take part in groups or message friends, or maybe you much like using it. However what concerning all those old, unpleasant or sensitive messages? Or what if you intend to wipe all your old posts and simply start fresh?

If you've used Facebook for some time, it would take way excessive time to return and also erase every post independently. Personally, I've been making use of Facebook's "On This particular day" function to inspect back over old blog posts and delete those I don't like. However, if you desire a fast means to erase a great deal of articles simultaneously, you'll require to make use of a browser expansion.

This message includes our common caution about web browser expansions being a privacy headache. Yes, it's ironic that we're battling one personal privacy issue by utilizing one more. But it's practically the only means to get this done. And you can constantly eliminate the expansion when you're finished utilizing it.

We're going to make use of Social Publication Article Manager for Google Chrome. We have not been able to find a Firefox or Safari extension that functions as quickly, so even if you're not a Chrome user, you're most likely best off mounting Chrome briefly so you can use this extension to clean your Facebook account.

Open up Chrome and also head to the Social Publication Blog post Manager page in the Chrome Web Store. Click the "Include In Chrome" switch.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

Next off, click the "Include Extension" switch. You'll after that need to leave and also resume Chrome to end up mounting the expansion.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

Now the expansion is ready, head to Facebook. If you want to, you can download and install a duplicate of all the data you have actually ever before uploaded to Facebook as a back-up. Afterwards (or as opposed to that if you don't care concerning supporting your old messages), click the down dealing with arrowhead in the top right and choose the "Task Log" command.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

The Task Log reveals everything you've ever done on Facebook. It's sort of scary to just scroll back through. You can see specific type of activity using the filters on the left side, and dive to a particular date using the navigation on the appropriate side.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

If you intend to remove everything you've done, leave Activity Log chosen in the filters. Otherwise, if you simply wish to remove things you have actually posted or the blog posts you're identified in, use the relevant filters. The Social Publication Message Supervisor works with whatever articles are included in the filter you have actually established.

When you have your filter established, click the "Social Publication Post Supervisor" icon in Chrome to raise the expansion.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

There are a couple of options right here for fine tuning which articles you target.

  • Year: target a specific year or simply choose Select All.

  • Month: target a specific month or just choose pick All.

  • Text Contains: only target articles consisting of a certain key words.

  • Text Not Includes: just target messages without a certain key phrase.

  • Prescan On Web page: lets you review which messages will certainly be deleted prior to they're actually erased.

  • Speed: how quick Social Publication Post Manager functions. On a much faster computer with an excellent net link, you can make use of a greater rate.


To demonstrate exactly how this all jobs, I'm mosting likely to target every one of my own messages from November 2007. Initially, I picked the "Blog posts" filter in Facebook to make sure that the expansion will only target my own articles. Then, I opened the Social Publication Message Supervisor extension, selected 2007 for the year, as well as November for the month. I've left the "Prescan on Web page" choice allowed so that I can assess messages prior to they are removed. And also I'm not using any type of key phrases.

Establish Social Book Article Manager up the way you desire, and afterwards click the "Remove" switch. Social Book Blog post Supervisor will run, scrolling down the web page as it does. Unwind as well as let it do its point. The more blog posts you're targeting, the longer it will certainly take.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

When it's done scanning, you'll see the outcomes. If you had the prescan alternative switched on, it shows a checklist of matching articles with a little blue tick alongside each blog post it's targeting for removal. If you really did not have the prescan on, your posts will certainly have currently been erased.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

If you did use the prescan on, you can go through and also deselect any type of articles you want to keep. You can also open the "Confirm to Delete" food selection and choose or deselect all the blog posts at the same time. When you have actually reviewed as well as selected messages, open up that "Confirm to Remove" food selection, and after that select the "Remove" command.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

Once more, Social Publication Post Manager will certainly get work to work erasing posts. When it's done, the articles will certainly be gone.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

While erasing your old posts is an excellent idea, it will not aid you if 3rd party already has your data. Likewise, while Facebook claims in their Regards to Service that anything you remove additionally gets deleted from their web servers, they also specify that "the removed web content might continue backup duplicates for a practical time period (usually, for an optimum of 90 days ...)" and will certainly be held for longer "if called for by applicable regulation, order of any kind of government agency or judicial body, or such".