How to Remove A Facebook Post

Deleting Posts On Facebook


Just how to remove any type of article that you developed on Facebook, in addition to how to remove remarks you made. Bear in mind that, while you can report other people's blog posts for being unsuitable, you can not erase an additional person's post unless it gets on your page.

How To Remove A Facebook Post


It's easy enough to delete one Facebook article each time, yet there's no integrated in means to delete blog posts in set. For that, you'll need to count on a web browser extension.

Facebook has had a poor few months. The Cambridge Analytica farce is only the latest thing making people re-evaluate exactly how Facebook matches their lives. You might constantly completely quit Facebook if you want, however, for several that's not an option. Possibly you need it for work, possibly you require it to take part in teams or message friends, or possibly you similar to using it. However what regarding all those old, awkward or delicate blog posts? Or what if you wish to wipe all your old articles and just start fresh?

If you've utilized Facebook for a while, it would certainly take way excessive time to go back as well as erase every post independently. Personally, I have actually been using Facebook's "On Today" feature to check back over old articles and also erase those I do not like. Yet, if you desire a quick way to erase a great deal of messages simultaneously, you'll require to utilize a web browser extension.

This message includes our conventional warning regarding browser expansions being a personal privacy headache. Yes, it's paradoxical that we're battling one privacy problem by using another. However it's pretty much the only way to get this done. As well as you can always get rid of the extension when you're ended up using it.

We're going to utilize Social Publication Message Manager for Google Chrome. We haven't been able to locate a Firefox or Safari expansion that functions as easily, so even if you're not a Chrome customer, you're possibly best off setting up Chrome briefly just so you can utilize this expansion to clean up your Facebook account.

Open up Chrome as well as head to the Social Publication Blog post Manager page in the Chrome Web Shop. Click the "Contribute To Chrome" switch.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

Next, click the "Add Extension" switch. You'll after that need to leave and also resume Chrome to finish mounting the expansion.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

Currently the expansion prepares, head to Facebook. If you want to, you can download and install a copy of all the information you've ever posted to Facebook as a back-up. After that (or instead of that if you uncommitted about backing up your old messages), click the descending facing arrowhead in the leading right and also choose the "Activity Log" command.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

The Task Log shows whatever you have actually ever before done on Facebook. It's type of terrifying to simply scroll back through. You can see specific kinds of task making use of the filters on the left side, and also jump to a particular date using the navigating on the best side.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

If you want to delete whatever you've done, leave Task Log selected in the filters. Or else, if you simply wish to remove things you've uploaded or the blog posts you're tagged in, use the pertinent filters. The Social Publication Blog post Supervisor deals with whatever articles are included in the filter you have actually established.

When you have your filter established, click the "Social Book Blog post Manager" symbol in Chrome to raise the expansion.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

There are a few options right here for fine adjusting which messages you target.

  • Year: target a details year or simply select Select All.

  • Month: target a details month or just choose pick All.

  • Text Contains: only target articles containing a particular search phrase.

  • Text Not Consists of: only target articles without a certain keyword phrase.

  • Prescan On Page: allows you evaluate which articles will certainly be removed prior to they're really removed.

  • Rate: how fast Social Book Article Supervisor works. On a quicker computer system with a great web connection, you can use a greater rate.


To demonstrate how this all jobs, I'm mosting likely to target every one of my very own posts from November 2007. Initially, I selected the "Messages" filter in Facebook to ensure that the extension will only target my very own posts. After that, I opened the Social Publication Post Manager extension, picked 2007 for the year, as well as November for the month. I have actually left the "Prescan on Web page" choice allowed so that I can review messages prior to they are deleted. As well as I'm not utilizing any kind of search phrases.

Establish Social Publication Article Supervisor up the means you want, and afterwards click the "Remove" switch. Social Book Post Supervisor will certainly run, scrolling down the page as it does. Sit back as well as let it do its point. The more articles you're targeting, the longer it will certainly take.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

When it's done scanning, you'll see the results. If you had the prescan option switched on, it reveals a checklist of matching blog posts with a little blue tick beside each blog post it's targeting for removal. If you really did not have the prescan on, your blog posts will have currently been erased.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

If you did utilize the prescan on, you can go through and deselect any kind of blog posts you wish to maintain. You can additionally open up the "Validate to Erase" food selection as well as choose or deselect all the messages at once. When you have actually evaluated and picked articles, open up that "Confirm to Remove" food selection, and after that pick the "Erase" command.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

Once again, Social Publication Blog post Supervisor will certainly get function to work removing articles. When it's done, the articles will certainly be gone.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

While deleting your old messages is a great concept, it won't help you if third party currently has your data. Similarly, while Facebook asserts in their Regards to Solution that anything you remove additionally obtains erased from their web servers, they additionally specify that "the removed material might continue backup duplicates for an affordable period of time (generally, for a maximum of 90 days ...)" and also will certainly be held for longer "if called for by relevant regulation, order of any type of government company or judicial body, or such".