Delete Facebook Posts

Deleting Posts On Facebook


Just how to get rid of any type of post that you developed on Facebook, along with just how to remove comments you made. Bear in mind that, while you can report other people's articles for being improper, you can not remove one more individual's blog post unless it's on your web page.

Delete Facebook Posts


It's very easy sufficient to erase one Facebook blog post each time, however there's no integrated in means to erase articles in batch. For that, you'll need to rely on an internet browser expansion.

Facebook has had a negative few months. The Cambridge Analytica mess is just the latest thing making people re-evaluate exactly how Facebook suits their lives. You might always totally give up Facebook if you desire, but for many that's not a choice. Maybe you need it for work, maybe you need it to take part in groups or message good friends, or perhaps you much like using it. But what concerning all those old, embarrassing or delicate posts? Or suppose you want to wipe all your old articles and also just start fresh?

If you have actually made use of Facebook for some time, it would certainly take method way too much time to return and also erase every message separately. Personally, I have actually been utilizing Facebook's "On Today" function to inspect back over old posts and erase those I do not such as. However, if you desire a quick method to erase a great deal of blog posts at once, you'll need to make use of a browser extension.

This message includes our typical caution about web browser extensions being a privacy headache. Yes, it's paradoxical that we're combating one personal privacy trouble by utilizing an additional. But it's basically the only means to get this done. And you can constantly remove the expansion when you're completed utilizing it.

We're mosting likely to use Social Book Message Supervisor for Google Chrome. We haven't been able to locate a Firefox or Safari extension that works as conveniently, so even if you're not a Chrome user, you're probably best off installing Chrome momentarily so you can utilize this extension to clean up your Facebook account.

Open up Chrome and head to the Social Book Post Manager page in the Chrome Web Shop. Click the "Contribute To Chrome" button.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

Next, click the "Add Expansion" button. You'll then require to exit and also resume Chrome to complete installing the extension.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

Currently the expansion is ready, head to Facebook. If you want to, you can download a copy of all the data you have actually ever uploaded to Facebook as a back-up. Afterwards (or rather than that if you uncommitted about backing up your old articles), click the descending encountering arrowhead in the top right and select the "Task Log" command.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

The Task Log shows every little thing you've ever before done on Facebook. It's kind of terrifying to simply scroll back with. You can see details kinds of task making use of the filters on the left side, as well as jump to a certain day making use of the navigating on the right side.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

If you wish to erase whatever you've done, leave Activity Log picked in the filters. Otherwise, if you just intend to erase things you've published or the blog posts you're marked in, use the pertinent filters. The Social Publication Blog post Supervisor services whatever blog posts are included in the filter you have actually set up.

When you have your filter established, click the "Social Book Message Manager" symbol in Chrome to raise the expansion.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

There are a couple of options here for fine tuning which blog posts you target.

  • Year: target a certain year or simply select Select All.

  • Month: target a details month or just choose pick All.

  • Text Contains: just target messages having a certain search phrase.

  • Text Not Contains: only target blog posts without a certain key phrase.

  • Prescan On Page: lets you assess which articles will be deleted prior to they're in fact deleted.

  • Speed: how quick Social Book Article Supervisor works. On a faster computer system with a good web connection, you can use a greater rate.


To demonstrate exactly how this all works, I'm going to target all of my very own articles from November 2007. Initially, I picked the "Blog posts" filter in Facebook to ensure that the extension will only target my very own messages. Then, I opened the Social Book Blog post Supervisor expansion, picked 2007 for the year, and November for the month. I have actually left the "Prescan on Page" alternative allowed so that I can evaluate posts prior to they are deleted. And I'm not using any type of key words.

Set Social Publication Post Supervisor up the way you want, and then click the "Remove" switch. Social Publication Blog post Manager will run, scrolling down the page as it does. Unwind and also allow it do its thing. The more blog posts you're targeting, the longer it will take.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

When it's done scanning, you'll see the results. If you had the prescan alternative turned on, it reveals a listing of matching blog posts with a little blue tick next to each article it's targeting for removal. If you didn't have the prescan on, your articles will have already been erased.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

If you did use the prescan on, you can go through as well as deselect any articles you want to keep. You can likewise open up the "Validate to Remove" food selection and also pick or deselect all the articles at once. When you've evaluated and also picked posts, open up that "Validate to Erase" menu, and after that select the "Erase" command.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

Once again, Social Book Post Supervisor will certainly get function to function removing messages. When it's done, the posts will be gone.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

While deleting your old articles is a great concept, it will not help you if 3rd party already has your data. Similarly, while Facebook declares in their Terms of Solution that anything you delete additionally obtains removed from their web servers, they likewise state that "the gotten rid of content might persist in backup copies for a reasonable time period (usually, for a maximum of 90 days ...)" as well as will certainly be held for longer "if called for by applicable law, order of any kind of federal government company or judicial body, or the like".