Facebook How to Remove A Post

Deleting Posts On Facebook


How to get rid of any post that you produced on Facebook, in addition to exactly how to eliminate remarks you made. Keep in mind that, while you can report other individuals's messages for being inappropriate, you can not erase an additional person's article unless it's on your web page.

Facebook How To Remove A Post


It's simple enough to delete one Facebook blog post each time, however there's no integrated in way to erase messages in batch. For that, you'll need to look to an internet browser expansion.

Facebook has actually had a bad few months. The Cambridge Analytica fiasco is only the latest thing making individuals re-evaluate just how Facebook matches their lives. You could constantly entirely stop Facebook if you want, but for lots of that's not an alternative. Maybe you require it for work, possibly you need it to take part in teams or message good friends, or perhaps you similar to utilizing it. But what about all those old, unpleasant or sensitive articles? Or suppose you want to clean all your old articles as well as simply start fresh?

If you have actually made use of Facebook for a while, it would certainly take method too much time to go back as well as erase every post independently. Personally, I've been utilizing Facebook's "On This Day" attribute to inspect back over old articles as well as delete those I do not like. Yet, if you want a quick means to delete a lot of posts at the same time, you'll require to make use of a web browser expansion.

This blog post includes our common warning about browser expansions being a privacy nightmare. Yes, it's paradoxical that we're dealing with one personal privacy problem by using one more. Yet it's practically the only method to get this done. And you can constantly eliminate the expansion when you're ended up using it.

We're going to make use of Social Book Article Manager for Google Chrome. We have not been able to discover a Firefox or Safari expansion that works as conveniently, so even if you're not a Chrome customer, you're probably best off installing Chrome momentarily just so you can use this expansion to clean up your Facebook account.

Open up Chrome and head to the Social Book Message Supervisor page in the Chrome Web Store. Click the "Include In Chrome" switch.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

Next, click the "Add Expansion" switch. You'll after that require to exit and reopen Chrome to end up setting up the expansion.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

Currently the extension prepares, head to Facebook. If you wish to, you can download and install a copy of all the information you have actually ever posted to Facebook as a back-up. Afterwards (or instead of that if you do not care concerning supporting your old posts), click the descending encountering arrowhead in the leading right and choose the "Activity Log" command.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

The Activity Log reveals whatever you have actually ever before done on Facebook. It's type of distressing to simply scroll back with. You can see certain type of task using the filters on the left side, and dive to a particular day using the navigation on the ideal side.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

If you wish to remove every little thing you've done, leave Activity Log selected in the filters. Otherwise, if you simply intend to erase things you have actually posted or the messages you're labelled in, make use of the relevant filters. The Social Publication Post Manager services whatever blog posts are consisted of in the filter you have established.

When you have your filter set up, click the "Social Book Article Supervisor" symbol in Chrome to bring up the extension.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

There are a couple of options right here for fine adjusting which blog posts you target.

  • Year: target a certain year or simply select Select All.

  • Month: target a particular month or just pick select All.

  • Text Contains: only target blog posts consisting of a certain keyword phrase.

  • Text Not Includes: only target blog posts without a particular keyword.

  • Prescan On Web page: lets you review which posts will certainly be erased prior to they're in fact removed.

  • Speed: just how rapid Social Book Blog post Supervisor functions. On a quicker computer system with a good net connection, you can use a higher rate.


To show how this all jobs, I'm mosting likely to target every one of my own posts from November 2007. First, I picked the "Messages" filter in Facebook to ensure that the extension will only target my own articles. Then, I opened the Social Book Blog post Supervisor expansion, chosen 2007 for the year, as well as November for the month. I have actually left the "Prescan on Page" choice enabled to make sure that I can assess articles before they are removed. As well as I'm not using any type of key words.

Set Social Book Blog Post Supervisor up the method you desire, and then click the "Delete" switch. Social Book Blog post Manager will run, scrolling down the web page as it does. Kick back and also let it do its point. The even more posts you're targeting, the longer it will take.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

When it's done scanning, you'll see the results. If you had the prescan option switched on, it shows a list of matching posts with a little blue tick next to each message it's targeting for deletion. If you didn't have the prescan on, your blog posts will certainly have already been deleted.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

If you did use the prescan on, you can run through and also deselect any kind of articles you wish to maintain. You can also open the "Verify to Erase" menu as well as choose or deselect all the articles simultaneously. When you have actually evaluated and also selected messages, open up that "Validate to Erase" food selection, and then pick the "Erase" command.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

Once again, Social Publication Message Manager will obtain work to function deleting articles. When it's done, the blog posts will certainly be gone.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

While erasing your old blog posts is a great idea, it won't aid you if 3rd party already has your information. Similarly, while Facebook asserts in their Terms of Service that anything you delete also obtains deleted from their web servers, they additionally mention that "the gotten rid of content might continue backup copies for a reasonable amount of time (normally, for an optimum of 90 days ...)" and also will be held for longer "if called for by applicable law, order of any federal government company or judicial body, or the like".