How to Delete Facebook Posts

Deleting Posts On Facebook


How to eliminate any post that you produced on Facebook, in addition to just how to remove remarks you made. Remember that, while you can report other individuals's articles for being unsuitable, you can not delete an additional individual's message unless it gets on your web page.

How To Delete Facebook Posts


It's simple sufficient to erase one Facebook article at a time, however there's no integrated in means to erase messages in batch. For that, you'll need to look to a web browser extension.

Facebook has actually had a bad few months. The Cambridge Analytica mess is just the latest thing making individuals re-evaluate exactly how Facebook matches their lives. You might constantly completely give up Facebook if you desire, but also for several that's not a choice. Perhaps you require it for work, perhaps you need it to participate in teams or message buddies, or maybe you just like utilizing it. However what about all those old, awkward or delicate posts? Or what happens if you intend to clean all your old blog posts and simply start fresh?

If you've utilized Facebook for some time, it would certainly take method way too much time to return and erase every article separately. Personally, I've been using Facebook's "On This particular day" feature to examine back over old blog posts and erase those I don't such as. However, if you want a quick way to erase a great deal of blog posts simultaneously, you'll require to utilize a web browser extension.

This blog post includes our standard warning concerning browser extensions being a privacy nightmare. Yes, it's ironic that we're battling one privacy trouble by using another. But it's basically the only way to get this done. And you can always eliminate the extension when you're ended up utilizing it.

We're mosting likely to utilize Social Publication Article Manager for Google Chrome. We haven't been able to find a Firefox or Safari expansion that functions as quickly, so even if you're not a Chrome individual, you're possibly best off setting up Chrome temporarily so you can utilize this expansion to clean up your Facebook account.

Open Chrome and also head to the Social Book Message Supervisor web page in the Chrome Web Store. Click the "Add to Chrome" switch.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

Next off, click the "Add Extension" switch. You'll after that require to leave and also resume Chrome to finish setting up the extension.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

Now the expansion prepares, head to Facebook. If you want to, you can download and install a copy of all the information you have actually ever uploaded to Facebook as a backup. Afterwards (or rather than that if you do not care regarding supporting your old articles), click the descending facing arrow in the top right as well as pick the "Task Log" command.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

The Activity Log reveals whatever you have actually ever done on Facebook. It's sort of distressing to simply scroll back with. You can see specific type of task using the filters on the left side, and also dive to a particular day using the navigating on the ideal side.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

If you intend to delete whatever you've done, leave Task Log selected in the filters. Or else, if you just want to delete the things you've posted or the messages you're identified in, use the appropriate filters. The Social Book Post Supervisor deals with whatever posts are consisted of in the filter you have actually established.

When you have your filter established, click the "Social Publication Article Supervisor" icon in Chrome to bring up the extension.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

There are a couple of options here for fine adjusting which blog posts you target.

  • Year: target a particular year or just pick Select All.

  • Month: target a details month or simply choose pick All.

  • Text Contains: just target blog posts containing a certain key words.

  • Text Not Contains: only target articles without a particular search phrase.

  • Prescan On Page: lets you assess which blog posts will be erased prior to they're in fact deleted.

  • Rate: how rapid Social Book Blog post Supervisor works. On a much faster computer with an excellent net connection, you can utilize a greater speed.


To show how this all works, I'm mosting likely to target all of my own posts from November 2007. Initially, I chose the "Articles" filter in Facebook to make sure that the expansion will only target my own blog posts. After that, I opened up the Social Book Post Supervisor expansion, picked 2007 for the year, and also November for the month. I've left the "Prescan on Page" alternative made it possible for so that I can examine posts prior to they are deleted. And I'm not using any type of search phrases.

Set Social Book Post Manager up the method you want, and after that click the "Delete" switch. Social Book Post Manager will run, scrolling down the web page as it does. Sit back and also allow it do its point. The more messages you're targeting, the longer it will take.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

When it's done scanning, you'll see the outcomes. If you had the prescan choice turned on, it shows a listing of matching posts with a little blue tick alongside each blog post it's targeting for deletion. If you didn't have the prescan on, your blog posts will certainly have currently been erased.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

If you did utilize the prescan on, you can go through and also deselect any type of blog posts you wish to keep. You can additionally open up the "Validate to Remove" menu and also select or deselect all the articles at once. When you have actually evaluated as well as picked posts, open up that "Validate to Remove" food selection, and then select the "Remove" command.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

Once more, Social Book Post Supervisor will get work to function erasing posts. When it's done, the blog posts will certainly be gone.
Deleting Posts On Facebook

While erasing your old messages is a great concept, it won't aid you if third party already has your data. Likewise, while Facebook claims in their Regards to Solution that anything you remove also obtains deleted from their servers, they likewise specify that "the gotten rid of content may continue backup duplicates for a practical period of time (usually, for an optimum of 90 days ...)" and also will certainly be held for longer "if needed by applicable regulation, order of any type of government firm or judicial body, or such".